you're reading...
1931, New Candidates

1931 New Candidates

1931In 1931, seven new slots open up as we start to see the effect of the lively ball. After electing a record-setting nine players in 1926, we are now carrying over one slot from 1901, two from 1906, and two from 1921, which gives us 12 total slots in 1931. The following 18 players are now eligible in addition to those whose eligibility has begun since 1901. Eligibility is perpetual.

F = Hall of Fame member
M = Hall of Merit member
S = Hall of Stats member

Newly Eligible in 1931

Home Run Baker (F,M,S)
Donie Bush
George J. Burns
Jake Daubert
Bob Ewing
Art Fletcher
Larry Gardner
Harry Hooper (F)
Ed Konetchy
Hubert “Dutch” Leonard (the first one)
Rube Marquard (F)
Clyde Milan
Dode Paskert
Del Pratt
Slim Sallee
Hippo Vaughn
Bobby Veach
Smokey Joe Wood



No comments yet.

Tell us what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Institutional History

%d bloggers like this: