you're reading...
Mount Rushmore, Sidebars

Mount Rushmore, A Preview

Mount RushmoreNot long ago on New York’s WFAN, there was a conversation about the Mount Rushmore of the New York Jets. Now, I know some of you must be laughing, while others are think this is a mindless discussion. I was actually part of both groups. Luckily for me I was in the car for a while that day. I listened to passionate fans who really care about something that I at first thought was silly. The passion isn’t silly. But even if it were, these exercises are fun. They get people thinking.

And I’m a person, a Red Sox fan. So I got to thinking about the Red Sox. Ted Williams and Carl Yastrzemski are pretty easy. I’m not sure who the fourth guy should be maybe Pedro or Papi, Cy or Dewey. Boggs is fourth in Red Sox WAR. It’s the third guy who bugs me. See, I’m really not a Roger Clemens guy. And you can’t leave Clemens off any legitimate Mount Rushmore of the Red Sox.

Unless you can.

What I started thinking about why I don’t like Clemens, it’s simple. For his last four years in Boston, he really wasn’t the pitcher he had been. Then once he went to Toronto, he was. That’s it! Rushmore should be the best players ever to play for a franchise and only that franchise. That’s the only real way to remove Clemens from Boston’s, and it seems like it would be a lot of fun.

So, next Friday and basically for the 30 that follow, the Hall of Miller and Eric will share the Mount Rushmore for every franchise, awarding only based on the WAR of guys who have only played for that franchise. So you won’t find Ty Cobb on the Tigers’. Willie Mays doesn’t make it for the Giants. And Honus Wagner isn’t a Pirate. We think this could be quite interesting. Hope you enjoy.

Miller

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Mount Rushmore, A Preview

  1. This should be interesting.
    v

    Posted by verdun2 | June 2, 2017, 8:38 am
  2. I hope so. Some of the answers are just shocking.

    Posted by Miller | June 2, 2017, 9:35 am
  3. I like the idea and am curious to see results. It does seem needlessly harsh to guys like Cobb and Mays, who certainly don’t hold any ill will in the eyes of Tigers and Giants fans, but it makes a lot of sense for Clemens and Boston.

    Posted by JD | June 3, 2017, 2:34 pm
  4. Thanks for reading and commenting, JD. You’re right that it’s unnecessarily harsh. I’m just trying to create an interesting project, which I hope this will be. Again, I cannot disagree with your point.

    Posted by Miller | June 3, 2017, 2:46 pm

Tell us what you think!

Institutional History

